By Bobby Green

Blaze is the dreamy debut single from new group Them There. They consist of Former front man of Archive, Craig Walker, and ex-Nouvelle Vague singer, Phoebe Killdeer and the single is backed up with a superb remix by Orbit. ‘Blaze’ is a song written from two perspectives of the same situation: one trying to feel happy even when far from your loved ones, and one feeling sad imagining your loved ones far away and happy without you.

This Electronica sound is massive now in Ireland and the talent the Irish have for lyrical content puts us ahead of the pack, and this debut certainly puts their flag on that mountain.

Craig and Phoebe both had successful careers in music before teaming up for THEM THERE. Craig’s first band, formed when he was still a school-going teenager in Dublin in the early 90s, was Power of Dreams, a name familiar to any Irish rock fan. He then went on to front Archive, releasing four albums on East West/Warner. Craig has also collaborated with a number of film composers including Nathaniel Mechaly and Michael Nyman, and worked with Nick Muir, Juini Booth and Bang Gang. In 2013 Craig released the debut album from his latest project, Mineral, and he continues to write for and with other artists.

Phoebe worked with Nouvelle Vague on their sophomore album Bande à Part and toured with the band extensively, playing festivals and shows around the world. She also featured on Basement Jaxx’ 2003 album Kish Kash. Following on from this Phoebe pursued a solo career, with both Phoebe Killdeer & the Short Straws and Phoebe Killdeer & the Shift. Phoebe and Craig first collaborated on the track ‘The Fade Out Line’ for her 2011 albumInnerquake. The song was reworked by French house producer The Avener and released as ‘Fade Out Lines’ in 2014, becoming a huge hit and a staple of many DJs’ sets around the world.

THEM THERE will release their first album ‘Love In An Elevator’ later this year. Drawing on the duo’s extensive history of collaboration, the album features the talents of Tyler Pope (LCD Soundsystem) on bass, Knox Chandler (Siouxie and the Banshees, R.E.M., Cindy Lauper) and Jan-Hendrick Schmid on guitars, Tim Gane (StereoLab) on keyboards, Raphael Seguinier (Shannon Wright, Rufus Wainwright) on drums, and is produced by Victor Van Vugt (Nick Cave, P.J. Harvey, Beth Orton).

The single, videos and remix are all dropping April 13th..