Review by Bobby Green

<strong>The New 52</strong> is the latest project from Dubliner <strong>Darragh Cullen</strong>. He was once described in Hot Press back in 2010 as “one of the Countries most promising young songwriters” as he picked up Male Solo Artist Of The Year. <em>Let Me Sleep</em> will be his third album and was recorded and produced by Boo Hewerdine (Eddi Reader, The Bible), It is the follow up to Darragh’s critically acclaimed albums <em>‘The Finish Line’</em> in 2010 and <em>‘Whispers & Silent Screams’</em> in 2012. And when you’re listening to <em>Let Me Sleep</em> you really are hearing an artist in full stride, confident and assured in what they are trying to put across. Fully living up to, and surpassing the accolades given to him back in 2010. You may think that by the 3rd album that this should be the case, but at only 21 years of age this really is quite remarkable.

You may point me to the direction of The Strypes who will undoubtedly be on at least their 3rd album by 21 candles, and their undeniable talent puts them head and shoulders above most others not just of their age but of their genre. But practically all the instruments on <em>Let Me Sleep</em> were played by Darragh who picked up his first guitar aged eight. He says of his lyrical style <strong>“Lyrically I was inspired heavily by Ben Folds, Guy Garvey, even Robbie Williams (100% true, I think he’s brilliant…). I wanted the lyrics to be direct, almost conversational at times and full of little odd hints and references to things you wouldn’t normally find in a pop song”.</strong>

Darragh first met Boo Hewerdine when he attended a song writing workshop in 2013 and together they have forged a strong creative connection which has lead to them co-writing 2 songs on the album ‘Good Intentions’ & ‘Manhattan (For A Handful Of Beads)’ Darragh said of this experience <strong>“Boo was incredible during the album process. I wanted to focus heavily on the craft of songwriting for this album, and working with a master songwriter like Boo has been invaluable”.</strong> The album was mastered at Metropolis Studios by Tim Young (Elbow, The Smiths, Take That).

<strong>THE NEW 52</strong> fronted by Darragh Cullen on guitars & vocals with Conor McLoughlin on guitar, Sean O’Connor on drums and Mikey Deasy on bass will launch <em>‘Let Me Sleep’</em> on Sunday 18th, Workman’s Club, Dublin – tickets E5 at door. That’s a small price to pay for a look into the future.

“Let Me Sleep” will be release September 16th through Haven Records.

“Turning” is the first single from “Let Me Sleep”. Listen to it below